›› Convert kip to dekanewton


›› More information from the unit converter

How many kip in 1 dekanewton? The answer is 0.0022480894387096.
We assume you are converting between kip and dekanewton.
You can view more details on each measurement unit:
kip or dekanewton
The SI derived unit for force is the newton.
1 newton is equal to 0.00022480894387096 kip, or 0.1 dekanewton.
Note that rounding errors may occur, so always check the results.
Use this page to learn how to convert between kips and dekanewtons.
Type in your own numbers in the form to convert the units!

›› Quick conversion chart of kip to dekanewton

1 kip to dekanewton = 444.82216 dekanewton

2 kip to dekanewton = 889.64432 dekanewton

3 kip to dekanewton = 1334.46648 dekanewton

4 kip to dekanewton = 1779.28864 dekanewton

5 kip to dekanewton = 2224.1108 dekanewton

6 kip to dekanewton = 2668.93296 dekanewton

7 kip to dekanewton = 3113.75512 dekanewton

8 kip to dekanewton = 3558.57728 dekanewton

9 kip to dekanewton = 4003.39944 dekanewton

10 kip to dekanewton = 4448.2216 dekanewton

›› Want other units?

You can do the reverse unit conversion from dekanewton to kip, or enter any two units below:

Enter two units to convert


›› Common force conversions

kip to millinewton
kip to teranewton
kip to decinewton
kip to newton
kip to pound
kip to ounce
kip to femtonewton
kip to kilogram
kip to meganewton
kip to micronewton

›› Definition: Kip

In the United States, a kip is sometimes a unit of mass that equals 1,000 avoirdupois pounds (used to compute shipping charges), or more often a unit of force that equals 1,000 pounds force (used to measure engineering loads). Its symbol is kip. The name comes from combining the words "kilo" and "pound", thus 1,000 pounds; it is called a kilopound, sometimes using the same symbol kip or sometimes klb.

›› Definition: Dekanewton

The SI prefix "deka" represents a factor of 101, or in exponential notation, 1E1.

So 1 dekanewton = 101 newtons.

The definition of a newton is as follows:

In physics, the newton (symbol: N) is the SI unit of force, named after Sir Isaac Newton in recognition of his work on classical mechanics. It was first used around 1904, but not until 1948 was it officially adopted by the General Conference on Weights and Measures (CGPM) as the name for the mks unit of force.

›› Metric conversions and more

ConvertUnits.com provides an online conversion calculator for all types of measurement units. You can find metric conversion tables for SI units, as well as English units, currency, and other data. Type in unit symbols, abbreviations, or full names for units of length, area, mass, pressure, and other types. Examples include mm, inch, 100 kg, US fluid ounce, 6'3", 10 stone 4, cubic cm, metres squared, grams, moles, feet per second, and many more!