›› Convert gigalight year to astronomical unit

astronomical unit

›› More information from the unit converter

How many gigalight-year in 1 astronomical unit? The answer is 1.5823337893396E-14.
We assume you are converting between gigalight year and astronomical unit.
You can view more details on each measurement unit:
gigalight-year or astronomical unit
The SI base unit for length is the metre.
1 metre is equal to 1.0577248071986E-25 gigalight-year, or 6.6845871226706E-12 astronomical unit.
Note that rounding errors may occur, so always check the results.
Use this page to learn how to convert between gigalight years and astronomical units.
Type in your own numbers in the form to convert the units!

›› Quick conversion chart of gigalight-year to astronomical unit

1 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 63197790929900 astronomical unit

2 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 1.263955818598E+14 astronomical unit

3 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 1.895933727897E+14 astronomical unit

4 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 2.527911637196E+14 astronomical unit

5 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 3.159889546495E+14 astronomical unit

6 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 3.791867455794E+14 astronomical unit

7 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 4.423845365093E+14 astronomical unit

8 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 5.055823274392E+14 astronomical unit

9 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 5.687801183691E+14 astronomical unit

10 gigalight-year to astronomical unit = 6.31977909299E+14 astronomical unit

›› Want other units?

You can do the reverse unit conversion from astronomical unit to gigalight-year, or enter any two units below:

Enter two units to convert


›› Common length conversions

gigalight-year to gigaparsec
gigalight-year to pica
gigalight-year to inch
gigalight-year to micrometer
gigalight-year to chinese mile
gigalight-year to millimeter
gigalight-year to metric mile
gigalight-year to rod
gigalight-year to dekameter
gigalight-year to heer

›› Definition: Gigalight-year

One gigalight-year, abbreviation "Gly", is one billion light-years — one of the largest distance measures used. One gigalight-year equals 306.601 million parsecs, or roughly one-thirteenth the distance to the horizon of the observable universe (dictated by the cosmic background radiation). Gigalight-years are typically used to measure distances to supergalactic structures, such as clusters of quasars or the Great Wall.

›› Definition: Astronomical unit

The astronomical unit (AU or au or a.u. or sometimes ua) is a unit of length. It is approximately equal to the mean distance between the Earth and Sun. The currently accepted value of the AU is 149 597 870 691 ± 30 metres (about 150 million kilometres or 93 million miles).

The symbol "ua" is recommended by the Bureau International des Poids et Mesures, but in the United States and other anglophone countries the reverse usage is more common. The International Astronomical Union recommends "au" and international standard ISO 31-1 uses "AU".

›› Metric conversions and more

ConvertUnits.com provides an online conversion calculator for all types of measurement units. You can find metric conversion tables for SI units, as well as English units, currency, and other data. Type in unit symbols, abbreviations, or full names for units of length, area, mass, pressure, and other types. Examples include mm, inch, 100 kg, US fluid ounce, 6'3", 10 stone 4, cubic cm, metres squared, grams, moles, feet per second, and many more!